Details of the Sovereign Chapters and Councils of the A&ASR in Nigeria

The Supreme Council for Thirty-Third and Last Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite for Scotland and the Dominions and Dependencies of the British Crown and other Parts of the World oversees the twenty nine Degrees of the Scottish Rite.

Nigeria Provinces

For governance reason the twenty five 18° Degree Sovereign Chapters and the nine 30° Degree Sovereign Councils under the control of the A&ASR in Scotland are divided into six provinces.

To view details on the meeting nights, addresses and principal officers simply click on the relevant part of Nigeria.

About Nigeria

Nigeria, officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a federal constitutional republic comprising 36 states and its Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The country is located in West Africa and shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north. Its coast in the south lies on the Gulf of Guinea on the Atlantic Ocean.

The people of Nigeria have an extensive history. Archaeological evidence shows that human habitation of the area dates back to at least 9000 BCE. The area around the Benue and Cross River is thought to be the original homeland of the Bantu migrants who spread across most of central and southern Africa in waves between the 1st millennium BC and the 2nd millennium.


Each Province in Nigeria has its own kalendar, click the Province on the map above for details.

Click on the Map of the World to return to the Provinces Page.