Details of the Sovereign Chapters and Councils of the A&ASR in Australia

The Supreme Council for Thirty-Third and Last Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite for Scotland
and the Dominions and Dependencies of the British Crown and other Parts of the World oversees
the twenty nine Degrees of the Scottish Rite.

Australia Provinces

For governance reason the thirty-three 18° Degree Sovereign Chapters and the fourteen 30° Degree Sovereign Councils under the control of the A&ASR in Scotland are divided into eleven provinces.

To view details on the meeting nights, addresses and principal officers simply click on the relevant part of Australia.


About Australia

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country in the Southern Hemisphere. It is the world's sixth-largest country by total area. After discovery by Dutch explorers in 1606, Australia's eastern half was claimed by Great Britain in 1770 and settled through penal transportation to the colony of New South Wales from 26 January 1788. The population grew steadily in subsequent decades; the continent was explored and an additional five self-governing Crown Colonies were established. On 1 January 1901, the six colonies federated, forming the Commonwealth of Australia. Since Federation, Australia has maintained a stable liberal democratic political system which functions as a federal parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy. The federation comprises six states and several territories. The population of 22.7 million is heavily concentrated in the Eastern states and is highly urbanised.


A global Kalendar showing all Sovereign Chapters and Councils administered by the Supreme Council for Scotland can be found by visiting this page.

Click on the Map of the World to return to the Provinces Page.