The Sovereign Chapters and Councils
of New Zealand (Midland)

The Midland Province consists of one Sovereign Chapter and one Sovereign Council.

Sovereign Chapters

Aorangi No. 42 - Formed on 30 August 1922

Meets in Masonic Hall, Bank Street, Timaru, on the last Friday in March [I], May, August and November.

The Installation takes place during the March meeting.

Sovereign Councils

Canterbury No. 54 - Formed on 5 August 1982
Meets in the Concord Masonic Hall, Frank Street, Christchurch, and the Masonic Hall, Bank Street, Timaru on the third Saturday of April [I] and September.
The Installation takes place during the April meeting.

New Zealand

Return to the New Zealand page which will allow you to view details on the 4 provinces in New Zealand controlling the fifteen 18° Degree Chapters and the five 30° Degree Councils under the authority of the Supreme Council of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite in Scotland.


About New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses, that of the North and South Islands ‒ as well as numerous smaller islands.

New Zealand is situated some 1,500 kilometres (900 mi) east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and roughly 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the Pacific island nations of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga.

Because of its remoteness, it was one of the last lands to be settled by humans.