The Supreme Council for Scotland of the A&ASR

The motto of the Supreme Council for Scotland Thirty Third and Last Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite consists of the Latin phrase Deus Meumque Jus which translates into English as God and my Right.
This motto represents the 33˚ throughout the world and is used on the Crest of most of the Supreme Councils.


Sovereign Grand Commander's Welcome

It is my pleasure to offer a warm welcome to the website for the Supreme Council for Scotland of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. It is right and proper that an organisation which has existed for over one hundred and fifty years should, indeed must, continue to develop and reinvigorate itself. this website indicates that we continue to do so. This site should be used as a facility for our members, offering the required information to allow them to enjoy their membership to the fullest possible advantage whilst also informing the casual browser, possibly who are either non-members of the Order or even non-Freemasons alike an indication of our outlook and activities. Whatever reason you have either chosen to peruse our website or simply found us by chance I trust you will find it of interest.

MP Brother J. M. Marcus Humphrey of Dinnet,
33˚ Sovereign Grand Commander.

The 13th Sovereign Grand Commander, M∴P∴ Brother J. M. Marcus Humphrey of Dinnet, 33˚

The Supreme Council

Supreme Council The Supreme Council for Thirty-Third and Last Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite for Scotland and the Dominions and Dependencies of the British Crown and other Parts of the World consists of nine members, all of whom are expert and prominent Freemasons in Scotland.

The Supreme Council appoints its most senior member to be the Sovereign Grand Commander, who will speak for the order in its dealings with the other Supreme Councils and Lodges.

Since 1846 a total of 13 Sovereign Grand Commanders have represented the Supreme Council - More information of the Succession of Sovereign Grand Commanders in Scotland can be found here

The Council currently administers 147 Sovereign Chapters and 63 Sovereign Councils divided into 34 Provinces in over 12 countries worldwide.

More details on the Countries, Provinces, Sovereign Chapters and Councils can be found on here


The Council oversees the twenty nine Degrees of the Scottish Rite, although only five of these degrees are regularly worked today, these are

18˚ Knight Rose Croix
30˚ Knight of Kadosh
31˚ Inspector Inquisitor
32˚ Master of the Royal Secret
33˚ Inspector General

A separate page has been created containing a more detailed description on all of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite degrees, it can be found here


A Detailed Kalendar of all Sovereign Councils and Chapters can be found on their individual pages, an overview of which can be found here